I’m not a big fan of simply reporting news on this blog (hey, there’s a million blogs out there better at it than this one) and in interweb time I’m about a billion years too late (it has even been reported on proper TV and everything!) but I felt this resonated with ode.

1) Stripping DRM from files can only be a good thing. Content is no longer confined to a monitor screen or book page.

2) Apple needed to add something else to the mix if they want to up the price but I’m not overly convinced by the “higher quality files” sales pitch – is it just me or does the current 128kps level sound perfectly fine? I do most of my listening through earphones (whilst distracted by something else) or in the car (background engine noise). Even burning a CD from a playlist of “lower quality” files doesn’t make it sound awful through my perfectly acceptable mid range stereo.

I wonder…perhaps it’s my ears that are the problem. I can just about tell the difference between 128kps and 256kps but in all honesty, who cares? Still, I read that in trials the higher quality files outsold the lower quality files by 10-1 so what do I know? The price difference is low enough to make that extra 20p acceptable.

But would that matter in the classroom? No DRM is the issue here – we want educators to move the content around between devices, to gain as much as they can from content they’ve bought. It will depend on the content and the publishers – some content just won’t really be that usable offline, such as interactive flash games or video clips.

But I take my hat off to Steve Jobs – he’s managed to get the price rise the labels were asking for and managed to come out of the DRM argument with barely a scratch on him. All MP3 makers will now be forced to adopt the aac file format. And considering I have owned 2 ipods now and both of them broke just out of warranty of course (grr) I would like to try another MP3 player without the music I’ve bought being obsolete, thank you very much.

This news is great as it backs up our desire to get people using the content they buy. This isn’t to say that we shouldn’t protect where necessary but market movements such as this will see a further blossoming of digital content sales.

But what really caught my eye was the following slide:

“84% of digital consumers stated that they agreed, fully or somewhat, with the statement: ‘It is important to be able to transfer files between devices’ ”

http://www.techcrunch.com/

That’s basically everyone saying “we want to choose what to play our content on”. The people have spoken.

